Arkansas State League (1908-1909)

The Arkansas State League was a Class D minor baseball league that operated primarily in Arkansas from 1908-1909.


The league was formally organized on March 15th, 1908 in a meeting held in Little Rock, AR. Thomas J. Craighead of Hot Springs was elected president of the league in that meeting, and Argenta (now North Little Rock) and Poplar Bluff, MO were granted membership, joining Hot Springs, Pine Bluff, Helena, and Newport. 1 2 The 1908 bylaws officially designated the league as the "Arkansaw State Baseball League," but the official name was amended to "Arkansas" in the 1909 spring meeting.

The season opened on April 20th. On June 1st, Poplar Bluff dropped from the league and was transferred to Brinkley, AR. No playoffs were scheduled and Hot Springs was declared the winner.

On December 10th, 1908, a annual meeting of the league was held and W.W. Hurst was elected the new president of the league.

The 1909 season opened on April 15th and ran until it folded on July 7th. The league soon reorganized as the Northeast Arkansas League.


Alexandria Hoo Hoos 1909
Argenta Shamrocks1908-1909
Brinkley, AR 1908
Fort Smith Soldiers 1909
Helena Hellions 1909
Hot Springs Vaporites1908-1909
Jonesboro Zebras1909
Monroe, LA 1909
Newport Pearl Diggers1908
Newport-Batesville Pearl Diggers 1909
Pine Bluff Pine Knotts 1908
Poplar Bluff, MO 1908
Texarkana, AR 1909

1908 Record

1909 Standings

League Presidents

Thomas J. Craighead3/2/1908-12/10/1908
William W. Hurst12/10/1908-6/10/1909
Ralph Montague Rider6/14/1909-


5/26/1908William WrightHot SpringsPoplar Bluff3-0 55-minute Game.3
7/29/1908John McFarlandHelenaPine Bluff6-0 Faced only 26 batters after one was called out for failing to come to the plate.4
6/8/1909Charles DeardorffJonesboroFort Smith10-0 5
6/9/1909CookHelenaTexarkana1-0 6